Tags

I was searching for lavender at our local depot store last week, but there was none to be had.  My tween-aged daughter talked me into buying this hibiscus bush instead.  The $16.00 price tag gave me pause, but I swallowed hard and splurged.  Today, a full week later, I finally potted it. 

Everything I’ve read on-line about hibiscus insists it be given well drained soil, so I chose a soil formulated for cactus and mixed it with some regular potting soil.  My pot had no openings for drainage, so I used a screwdriver to poke some rather inelegant holes in its bottom.

The bush’s roots were tightly bound and some of its leaves had turned yellow, so I loosened up the bottom half of the root ball and plucked the leaves, mixing them into the planting mixture.  I packed the soil around it, barely covering the exposed roots on the top, and watered it well.  My reading told me that to let the plant sit in water is the kiss of death, so after about 15 minutes, I dumped out the water that had drained into the plastic saucer.  It now resides on the corner of our front sidewalk, where it will get at least nine hours of full sun each day, from sunrise until late afternoon. 

