Tags

, , , , ,

I just learned that there is a tradition amongst garden bloggers of posting, on the 15th of each month, pictures of what is blooming in their gardens that day.  As a new blogger, I am late to the party, but here are my submissions for August:

All of the impatiens are doing well.  I make my hanging baskets myself, rather than buy them pre-planted at the nursery.  It’s too much of a commitment for me to keep nursery-planted baskets watered, since the soil in them tends to be quite light and dries out too quickly.  Planting them myself is also much less expensive!

         

The black-eyed Susans began blooming almost a month ago, and are still looking lovely.  I did not cut back last year’s stems until early this summer, and they have not grown as thick and prolifically as usual.  I’ll do better next year.

The rose of Sharon is still splendid, despite beginning its bloom cycle quite early this summer.  I’ve sprayed it twice against Japanese beetles with good success.

 

 

 

 

 

In the house, I am quite pleased with this African violet, given to me a little over a year ago by a good friend.  I love the purple streaks on the pink blossoms!  My African violets are very happy living next to a north facing window.  They get watered from the bottom when they seem fairly dry, and I use the Schultz’s liquid fertilizer formulated for African violets every time I water.

Under a rhododendron, the begonias and sweet alyssum have grown fat and happy!  Looks like it’s time for the lawn around it to be mown, though! (Are you reading this, 13 year old son of mine?)

Finally, the flowers after whom my blog is named, the cosmos and the cleomes:

The cosmos, who re-seed themselves each year, have just started flowering.  I thinned out and transplanted the seedlings rather late, and I think that delayed their bloom.  No matter; they will continue on quite nicely through all of September. 

My strongest cleome plants this year are the “volunteers” from last year’s seed heads.  These are nearly four feet tall!  The ones I bought in nursery packs this year are small, weak, and spindly.  I think that next year I won’t bother with them, but just rely on the volunteers!

