Tags

, , , ,

As you may have read in earlier posts, I was slow getting my vegetable garden going this year.  Early in the spring, I decided that I wanted to expand my previous vegetable patch, incorporating two smaller flower beds and a walkway into what was already there.  This meant my husband needed to build more fence for me.

Now, my husband is absolutely brilliant in countless ways, but handy he is not!  That handicap, added to weather issues, his heavy work schedule, and family events, meant that the garden was not safely enclosed until the Fourth of July.

These two beds, pictured here last year,  plus another unkempt perennial bed overrun with mint, thyme,  and pink tickseed, have now joined forces, doubling the area of my former vegetable garden.  This is the vegetable garden today:

In the upper left of the picture are tomatoes, basil, and peppers.  The tomatoes have loved the heat and humidity of late July and August, and are just starting to give me ripe fruit.  One of the bushes is a yellow cherry tomato which is sprawling all over the bed, and my, those little gems are sweet! 

There is a row of basil behind the tomatoes and a row of peppers alongside.  When I put all of these young plants in on July 4, it seemed like there was plenty of space between them!

 

So far, I have only two small peppers.  I fear the remaining season may not be long enough for any others to mature. 

 

To the right of the tomato patch, cucumbers twine about, herbs spread, and a few sunflowers aim high.  I must give the cucumbers, who are just starting to blossom,  something on which to climb next year!  Perhaps they could twine up  the clematis trellis,  a relic from the former perennial bed.  I have read that Japanese cucumbers, which I want to plant next year, need a trellis so the fruit can hang down and grow long and straight.  (Though we find the curlicued ones at our farm market quite amusing!) 

Oh, there’s a row of zinnias, too.  I can’t wait until they bloom and add some color!

You can see a row of very tiny oregano seedlings to the left of the zinnias.  I think I won’t be using that in spaghetti sauce this fall!  Luckily, I also bought two mature oregano plants which are thriving in a different spot.

As you can see in the full garden picture above, my second planting of beans has come in quite thick.  There are many blossoms, and a few tiny beans.  Perhaps by this time next week, we will be enjoying beans straight from the garden with our dinner!

Finally, the zucchini.  I was a bit concerned because the first few flowers bloomed and fell off, leaving no fruit behind.  But today, I saw three buds with baby squashes behind them!  I chose Burpee’s Teeny Zucchini because it is marketed toward small gardens and promises a short maturation time.  It’s also fun to say!

The vegetables are all thriving, now, but you can see why I ask for a long, warm fall!

