Tags

, , , , ,

Don’t you like to have something nice to look at when you’re at your kitchen sink, doing the dishes?  This hillside leading up to a flatter section of lawn is the less than inspiring part of the view I see from my kitchen window.

Today, though,  I gave myself something to dream of through the long winter when all I’ll see is a wall of white.  Here I have planted dozens of bulbs to bloom in the spring– bunches of trumpeting yellow daffodils, and masses of sweet grape hyacinths.  Just imagine  this hillside blanketed in hues of sunny yellow and cheerful. perky violet!

Now, as you can see, we are blessed with lots of rocks at my house!  In some places, I stuck my trowel an inch into the ground and hit bedrock. In other places, I could fairly easily dig four or five inches down, and in those spots I planted groups of three or five bulbs.  I planted about 25 of the daffodils, advertised as “good for naturalizing”, on this hill, and all of the grape hyacinths. I need to buy more of those, though, as twenty-five Muscari really don’t go far!   (UPDATE: 10/17—planted 50 more today for a total of 75!)

In front of this little outcrop, I planted a dozen Allium Fireworks Mix, which are new to me.  They are supposed to grow ten inches high with yellow, white, and purple flowers, blooming in early summer, after the daffodils and grape hyacinths.  If I like them, I will plant some more groupings near other rocks to extend the color interest on the hillside  a little further into the season.

Up the hill and to the left a bit is this group of trees supporting my kids’ triangular treehouse.  The first summer I lived here, I tried to grow a bed of hostas beneath the branches.  The deer and rabbits were indeed grateful! 

This is the spot the lamb’s ears now live, and today, I tucked some daffodils and pink wood hyacinths among the happy looking transplants.  The wood hyacinths should grow ten to twelve inches tall and bloom around the time of the daffodils.  Because I had to dig not only around rocks here, but also tree roots, I fear the bulbs may not have gotten planted at the recommended depth!  I rationalize this with the thick layer of leaves that will cover this area well before winter sets in. 

Even as I clean up the remains of the summer garden and enjoy the autumn foliage, now I can barely wait until spring to see all of these glorious, colorful blossoms!

