Tags

, , ,

After a profusion of bright yellow, pink, purple, and white blooms early every spring, there comes a time of lush, quiet green in my garden.  Thus it is in the rock garden this week:It may seem that nothing much is happening here, but this garden is loaded with potential energy!

Here are some geum “Mrs. Bradshaw” getting ready to burst forth:

 

 

 

 

 

I am unfamiliar with geum; it was an experiment last year.  So far I am pleased!

The roses seem to be planning a nice show soon:

My May Night salvia used to thrive in the rock garden, but never came to the party last summer.  I have no idea why.  I am just glad to see that it is making a modest come-back this season:

I am a bit worried about these irises because they show no evidence of flower stalks or buds yet.  Up until last week, Virginia creeper and barren strawberry vines covered their corms, so their sunlight exposure was minimal.  Perhaps that’s the reason?  Perhaps they are too old and crowded, and need to be separated?  (I thought I did that last year, actually.)  Or, maybe they are just a late variety, and my worries are needless!

Though they have nibbled the yarrow at the the front end of the garden to the ground, our resident woodchucks have so far left this little patch alone.  My best friend shared these with me from her own garden.

I carry on a love-hate relationship with these ferns:  They thrive among the rocks, and do provide such a very lush backdrop for the flowers.  However, they encroach upon those same flowers, and every spring I merrily yank out a wheelbarrow full!

Finally, at the far end of the rock garden, this rhododendron does lend some color interest.  This bush survives, but does not thrive here in this very sunny, hot spot where it must compete with all of the weeds!  I do love the dark fuchsia of its blooms, though!You can see how much weeding I need to do.  That’s a bad corner of thegarden, which needs some major attention!

Soon the rock garden will be alive with color again.  Memorial Day weekend is here, and I feel secure about planting some annuals in there now.  The woodchucks have not bothered geraniums, ageratum, cleome, or alyssum in the past.  The roses and geum will bloom, along with the dianthus and wild daisies.  By Independence Day, we will start to see some bee balm, the first balloon flowers, and the coreopsis.  Until then, I shall enjoy the greenery!

