Tags

, , , , , ,

August was, for the most part, a good month in my gardens.  The flower beds show more color now than they did at the beginning of the month, with annuals coming into their own and some late-blooming perennials strutting their stuff.

The black-eyed Susans bloomed prolifically, and are just now starting to droop and wither.  I was very pleased that even the newly thinned and transplanted Susans had recovered sufficiently to bloom amidst the geraniums.  I really like the contrast between the yellow Rudbeckia and the purple-pink geraniums.  That needs to go on my “Things to Remember for Next Year” list!  (Not so enthusiastic about the salmon-hued geraniums, though.)

 

Here is the same section of the garden on August 1.  I guess it has grown some!  A little rain is a very good thing!

 

 

 

The Russian sage I planted in late July has taken off as well.  I frankly had not expected so much growth so quickly!   One of the irises I separated and replanted at the same time has a two or three new shoots too!

August 1

Today

My morning glories also had a growth spurt.  The word that comes to my mind when I look at these is robust:Surprisingly, Mr. and Mrs. Woodchuck have not been by to snack on the ones growing from the ground!  It’s a mystery to me, too, why the vines growing up the left post are punier than their counterparts.

My fifth or sixth generation giant coleus is thriving in the shade of these monster morning glories!  All too soon, it will be time to take cuttings for next year!August did not treat the vegetable garden as kindly as the flowers.  I was devastated, on the night before my birthday, no less, to find that late blight had hit my beautiful tomatoes!  And hit fast, it did!  Two lush Roma plants heavily laden with fruit went from the very picture of health to a sad mess in a matter of a few days.  It has more slowly spread to the neighboring Big Boys and Sweet 100sI know proper protocol dictates pulling these diseased plants and disposing of them in plastic bags or by burning, but with all of these tomatoes on the vines, I can not bear to do it!  (So far the fruit is unaffected by the blight.)  I take some comfort in knowing I’m not alone; nearly every local gardener I know has also been stricken.

Putting the bad news behind, I harvested lots and lots of green and yellow beans!  They are mostly done now, but there are still two short rows I planted in late July which are just starting to produce.In August, the few flowers I plant among the vegetables really start to make things pretty.  Here is my row of Fruit Smoothie zinnias, well-loved by butterflies, bees, and spiders!

These sunflowers had to reach high above the cherry tomatoes before they could bloom.  They are eight feet tall!Finally, a rogue sunflower came and went with the month:I am linking with The Patient Gardener for this end of month review.  Join me tomorrow or the next day when I will highlight what I am looking forward to next month in First View!

