Tags

, , , , ,

Well, here I am, a day late again.  I blame my son’s soccer team for my lateness this month; marathon games last night kept me out of the house (and sitting in the cold, damp night air) for nearly five hours!

The Autumn Joy Sedum is still the star of the garden this month.  Its color has intensified to a deep burgundy, bordering on russet.  Isn’t it lovely with this potted Dusty Miller next to it?  I will have to remember how much I like this combination next year!

We had our first freeze overnight on Friday, so the begonias and impatiens have gone to the great compost heap in the sky, . . .um, I mean backyard.  The Dusty Miller is more hardy though, and flourishing in the front entrance corner.  See that red chrysanthemum in the picture above?  I have moved it to the front garden, where it stands out well amongst all this silvery-gray Dusty Miller.  Another thing to remember for next year!Must say, I’m rather wishing I had taken care to replace the one Dusty Miller that had died early in the season, so I wouldn’t have that gaping space now!  I’m eager to see how many of these plants come back next spring.  My guess is that about 2/3 of them will send up new growth when warmth returns.  No wagering among my readers, please!

The petunias on my side porch are hardier than I expected, spiting the frost with continuing perky blooms.  I stopped dead-heading them a couple of weeks ago, assuming I was going to lose them soon, so perhaps they are spiting me too!You can see there’s also one brave little annual phlox in there, still, too!  All of these summery candy colors seem a bit out-of-place here in mid-October, but I don’t have the heart to dump them just because of the calendar!

Back in the rock garden, here are a couple of chrysanthemums that I planted last fall.  Mums are not reliably hardy in my climate zone, so it was a happy surprise to have so many come back this year! 

Here are a few dianthus, as well.  They seem to thrive among all the rocks.  I do need to move that bright pink one; it is largely hidden behind a rhododendron. 

 

 

 

 

 

In preparation for the frost, I did, a week ago, pot up some of my zonal geraniums to overwinter in the house.  I nipped off any very young buds, but left those that were mature enough to bloom very soon.  Once they finish, I will cut the plants back quite a bit and let most of them go dormant in the basement, where they will remain cool and receive only dim light through tiny slits of windows.  I just don’t have the window space for all of them to stay upstairs all winter!

I am experimentally wintering over the Dusty Miller in the pot with the pink geranium since I was so pleased with that combination this summer!

Finally, here is my Gerbera daisy, as lovely as its been all year.  We’ll see how it does indoors for the winter.  I think it needs a space where it will get some brighter light than it does on this particular table; I have not yet finalized all of my houseplant logistics now that they’ve come inside for the winter!  But won’t this daisy be a nice addition to my Christmas decor if I can keep it going?

I’m glad you came by to see what’s blooming in my gardens this month, and I’m looking forward to seeing all of yours.  Thanks for hosting this bloom day, as always, go to Carol at May Dreams Gardens.

