Tags

, , , ,

I see some of my northern blog friends are braver than I, and have ventured out into the November chill to find any sign of plant life out there.  Today, with a high temperature of forty degrees, I chose to stay indoors!  There are but a few things to share:

My red Christmas cactus adapted well to being moved back inside six weeks ago after its summer vacation on my front porch, and did not drop any buds in protest.  Its blooms peaked the week after Halloween; here it is today:This little pink cactus was a gift last Christmas from a child in a library program I run.  I’ve done absolutely nothing for it beyond giving it an occasional drink, so I’m surprised and pleased to see it flowering for me.  I will re-pot it and continue to benignly ignore it when it finishes:
Yes, I should remove the decorative wrapping.  In my own defense, I did cut the bottom round off of the foil covering, so the plant has good drainage.

Here is one of my very reliable African violets, inherited from my grandmother about nine years ago.  They are true powerhouses, nearly always in bloom, and reproducing themselves abundantly.  This one needs to be separated into two plants when the current round of blossoms fades.  I have promised the new plant to my daughter’s piano teacher:You can see what vigorous plants these are!  They love the bright light of my northward facing windows, and I water and fertilize them about twice a month with a weak solution of Schultz’s African violet food.  They are all planted in soil formulated especially for African violets.

Here is another of those violets; it may be the original mother plant.  It shares this rectangular pot with a pink violet.  My thought was that they would bloom together and complement one another nicely.  Well, in three years, I’ve seen the pink violet bloom exactly once, and of course it was at an odd moment that the purple one was resting!  I plan to re-pot both of these plants into individual containers soon:

In my kitchen window, the Crown of Thorns sports cheerful, dainty red blossoms all winter long:

I find the thorny, leafless trunk of this plant quite unattractive, and am considering re-potting it along with a shorter houseplant as camouflage.   Any suggestions?  If I do re-pot it, though, the new pot will have to be bigger, and then it won’t fit on the windowsill anymore.  Yet, looking ahead a year, after the plant spends next summer in the great outdoors, it will come back in too tall for this window, and I will have to find it a new home then anyway.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this view of what’s blooming inside this month!  Thanks as always to Carol at May Dreams Gardens for hosting our monthly bloom day!

