Tags

, ,

On January 2, I posted pictures of a mystery plant that had started to put out a flower stalk and bud:

Walking iris plant

Walking Iris about to bud

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The bud developed VERY slowly.  I waited and waited.

Walking iris bud

Finally, yesterday morning, I came downstairs and saw this.  There was a hint of something lovely inside:

Walking Iris budWalking Iris bud 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Only an hour later, something magical had happened!Walking Iris open

Alas, the magic lasted less than a day.  This morning, this is all that remains:021

Once I saw the flower,  I Googled its description and found that this is a Walking Iris,  (Neomarica gracilis), also known as an Apostle Plant.  After it blooms, plantlets should form where the flowers were.  The weight on top of the stalk will cause it to droop to the ground (or pot), and the plantlets will take root.  This is how it gained the name Walking Iris.  According to Wikipedia, it is also called Apostle Plant because it supposedly needs twelve leaves before it will bloom.  I counted.  My plant has ten.

Before I identified this plant and learned its habits, I had put a stake in the pot to hold up the flower stalk, which was sagging down to the cushions of the love seat beside it.  Now that I know how it behaves, I plan to put a pot of fresh, moist soil beside it and gently guide the stalk to it, giving its baby a place to root and develop.  My daughter’s piano teacher, who gave the Walking Iris to me, has requested one of the new plants, as her mother plant died.

I feel I was lucky to catch this flower in bloom.  Had it been a busier sort of day yesterday, I would have missed it completely!  It looks like there is at least one more flower to come.  I can’t wait to see this magic again!

Walking Iris open

 

