Tags

, , , , , , ,

Spring is arriving here in fits and starts, making a slow but steady inroad.  I took advantage of the warm, sunny weather we had on Saturday and took a walk around my yard, to see what I could see!

In the rock garden, the black-eyed Susans are waking.  No sign yet of the bleeding heart; I hope it survived the major overhaul  I completed last spring in that section of the garden!

061

Chrysanthemums aren’t reliably hardy in Northeastern Pennsylvania, so I was happy to see the green in the center of this one. The yarrow is off to a good start, as well, and of course the weeds thrive!

063

062

Just across from the rock garden, I decided it was finally safe to remove the Christmas tree branches from the bed they had protected since January.  Underneath, I was happy to see new growth beginning on my Sedona rose.  It seems the rose had its own guardian angel all winter!

054 056

 

 

 

 

 

As I continued to lift boughs, a pungent scent wafted to my nose.  It was the lavender.  On the next nice day that rolls around (perhaps tomorrow!), I plan to trim the old stems to make room for the new.

091

Around the corner, the dragon’s blood sedum sports some bright baby rosettes, and look how nicely the hens and chicks are pinking up in the succulent patch!. 087

Many crocuses and daffodils have sprouted under a rhododendron and around the rose of Sharon. 086094

Some old hyacinth bulbs are poking through in the small bed at the head of our front walk.  Originally yellow, pink, and blue, they have all reverted to a less-than-stunning pale pink.  I may move them to a less conspicuous location in the fall and plant new ones here.093

Along the back wall of the house, where the afternoon sun beats strong, there is new life on the butterfly bush I planted there last year, and the Allium ‘Purple Sensation’ is well on its way.  I’ll trim the butterfly bush back to its new growth when I trim the lavender.065096

Within the confines of the vegetable garden fence, a small patch of tulips begins to fill the space that will later play host to summer green beans.066

The color I so look forward to seeing on my back hillside is just beginning, with these bright ‘Goldilocks’ Crocuses chrysanthum.  070071

Just at the top of that little hill, I found evidence that the neighborhood black bears have come out of hibernation.  Now I know the answer to the question, “Does a bear crap in the woods?”  No, it instead does its dirty work out in the open, right in my lawn!  The deer clearly need some better toileting manners, as well!076075

Farther up the backyard, near the kids’ treehouse, there are more daffodil shoots, and even some buds, and a few irises have poked their noses through all the dead leaves.  I hope to see some signs of foxglove in that area soon.082081

Finally, beyond the tree house, at the edge of the woods, the row of ‘King Alfred’ daffodils I planted last fall has sprouted.  In spite how huge and healthy the bulbs were, I worried over them, for as I planted them, the trench I dug began to fill with water, presumably from one of the many underground springs around here.  My worry was for naught.  My notebook says I planted thirty bulbs, but I counted at least forty-five little daffodil noses!      078

Since the day of this stroll, we’ve had a mild resurgence of winter, with daytime temperatures only in the mid-thirties, bitter wind, and quick snow squalls.  My favorite forecaster has promised milder temperatures beginning tomorrow, though, and I am very eager to get back outside to play in my gardens!

