Tags

, ,

When last you heard about my amaryllises, I was waiting eagerly for three events:

One, the blooms from the second flower stalk on my ‘Apple Blossom’ Amaryllis:

A second flower stalk!

Alas! It is not to be.  The stalk became partially severed near its base, and it eventually withered and died rather than produce flowers.  I have no idea how or when it happened, and no one around here is ‘fessing up!

Two, blooms on the second and third flower stalks of Amaryllis ‘Gervase,’ both of which started opening shortly before Easter.  Here it is, with eight flowers in various stages of blossom:053048Some of my reading indicated that Gervase’s subsequent blooms could vary in color and pattern from the first stalk (more solid color, less striation), but these are all true to the original.  “Apple Blossom’ used to be my favorite amaryllis, but I believe ‘Gervase’ has surpassed it in my favor!

Finally, my mystery amaryllis, which was a gift from a friend at Christmas.  I have no idea what its name is, but, for a big box discount store bulb that sported a withered brown bud out of the box, I think it has performed well, with four very large, dark red flowers:028To end this post, here is a gratuitous shot of the forsythia branches I brought inside two weeks ago:025

