Tags

, ,

102Because of our resident wildlife, I’ve never been able to plant tulips in the spaces and quantity I would like.  Last fall, however, I decided to experiment a little and planted a very small patch of twenty bulbs within the confines of the vegetable garden fence.  Success was mine!  The bulbs stayed where I planted them, and the blooms have (thus far, knock on wood) not been eaten by anyone.  Additionally, I have a nice view of them from the kitchen window, always a bonus in my book!

Here is the single early Tulipa ‘Purple Prince.’  Mine began to bloom in late April, and range from sixteen to seventeen inches tall.  "Purple Prince' tulips open104This is Tulipa ‘Christmas Orange,’ also a single early variety.  It bloomed in early May, a week later than ‘Purple Prince,’ and ranges from twelve to fourteen inches tall.  111The picture in the on-line catalog shows tulips with a more muted orange color and more prominent flames of fuchsia.  Though I like the contrast between the purple and orange, I’m not fond of these and won’t buy them again.105Finally, here is Tulipa ‘Synaeda Amour,’ a Triumph tulip that began to bloom the first week of May, just after ‘Christmas Orange.’   Its height in my garden ranges from twelve to thirteen inches,  which is much shorter than its advertised height of eighteen to twenty inches!  It is very pink, with some slight tinges of deeper rose and lilac seen at the base of the flowers.096103All of these bulbs performed nicely when forced into indoor winter bloom, as well, though again, I did not particularly like ‘Christmas Orange.’  Outside, I am still waiting to see Tulipa ‘Tequila Sunrise,’ which I fell in love with after it bloomed indoors for me back in February.  I estimate they will bloom in about a week, perhaps for Mother’s Day! 208

