Tags

, , , ,

As I promised a few days ago, here are a few things I look forward to seeing in this beautiful month of May:

Snowy drifts of candytuft will cascade among the stones in the rock garden.

140The ‘Basket of Gold’ Alyssum will provide a bright yellow contrast to all of that white!Alyssum 'Basket of Gold' buddedThe creeping phlox I planted last spring may add some lavender or pink to the mix.  I see phlox in other gardens around town blooming already, but blooms come later up here on our cooler hill.  Here is a beard of phlox in the rocks.a beard of creeping phloxThere are more bulbs poised to bloom:

Narcissus ‘Beautiful Eyes’ will come first.  The buds look like they are holding a few flowers for each stalk.Narcissus 'Beautiful Eyes' bud

 

This is Narcissus ‘Baby Moon.’  It was the last to emerge from its winter nap, and there are no signs of flower stalks or buds yet.  I’ve never grown these before, so I don’t know what to expect.  They have the thinnest, finest greenery I’ve ever seen on a daffodil!Narcissus 'Baby Moon' leavesThere’s plenty of Allium around, too, both the medium-sized ‘Purple Sensation’ and the larger ‘Globe Master.’  I planted Allium ‘Moly Janine’ on my back hillside, but have seen neither hide nor hair of it yet.

163front walk corner

This tiny patch of tulips includes ‘Purple Prince,’ ‘Christmas Orange,’ ‘Synaeda Amour,’ and ‘Tequila Sunrise.’  Three of these varieties have bloomed since I took the picture on May first.  You can read about them here, in yesterday’s entry.tulips in rock gardenIf the birds leave them alone, we’ll enjoy some wild strawberries by the end of the month.  These are growing in a hot spot, against the foundation of the house, in the direct path of the sun from shortly after noon until sunset.wild strawberry blossoms

Will  ‘May Night’ Salvia or Geum ‘Mrs. Bradshaw’ bloom before May nights end?  I really don’t know.  It seems like they have a lot of growing to do if that is to be the case!Salvia 'May Nights' in early MayGeum 'Mrs. Bradshaw' early MayThe ferns will soon start to take over the rock garden.  An army of alien-like fiddleheads has landed and invaded!Fiddleheads

I think there’s a chance this Clematis ‘Riviera’ next to our side porch will bloom this month.  I planted it at the end of last summer, and am very pleased with the growth it’s put forth this spring.  It surely needs a bigger trellis, and soon!142Up by the tree house, the irises are growing and multiplying   We may see some new flowers there in a few weeks, making the end of the daffodils a little easier to take!irises near treehouseHere in the lower corner of our front yard, this poor old lilac suffers severe neglect, yet it has several flower buds.  Last year, most of the lilacs in our area bloomed poorly or not at all, as a result, we believe, of an abnormally mild winter coupled with a hard frost at just the wrong time.  I vow every spring to take better care of this bush, but then I fail miserably.  Perhaps I would remember to get down there more often if I created a little garden bed around it.  It does look rather lonely down there all by itself.sad lilac

 Moving to the vegetable garden, I may be able to harvest some lettuce and peas for a Memorial Day picnic!  We’re all looking forward to fresh from the garden produce!baby mesclun lettucebaby peaMay gives us gardeners so much to look forward to!  It also brings plenty of work, which will be the focus of my next “May Days” post, later this week!

 

