Tags

, , ,

Who would have thought that on Memorial Day weekend, the unofficial beginning of summer, I would see daffodils just beginning to bloom?  That is indeed the case with the  late-blooming miniature Narcissus Jonquilla ‘Baby Moon.’  030

‘Baby Moon’ was slow to emerge from its winter nap, poking through the ground in mid to late April, while ‘King Alfred’ bloomed.  It grew long, slender foliage, reminiscent of chives, twelve to seventeen inches high, and a much deeper green than the other daffs in the garden.  To my eye, it looks weedy.  016

In my zone 5b garden, ‘Baby Moon’s’ first bloom opened on May 24.  Its flower stalks are shorter than its leaves, ranging from eight to thirteen inches high.  Each stalk bears two or three tiny flowers, each barely an inch wide.  Most of the bulbs sent up two flower stalks.

With its tiny blossoms, ‘Baby Moon’ is best planted in large groups.  My clusters of three or four bulbs barely make an impact, surrounded as they are in this bed of quickly growing Rudbeckia foliage.020

Initially, I was unimpressed by Narcissus ‘Baby Moon,’  but I have come to see its usefulness in my gardens.  It provides color to the mostly green garden at the time of transition from spring to summer.  It blooms concurrently with  Allium ‘Purple Sensation’ and would make a fine foil for the allium’s long stems.  Additionally, it would quite prettily complement this bright rhododendron that also just began to bloom.  024

Rather than eliminate ‘Baby Moon’ from my garden, I believe the real answer is to plant even more of it to enjoy as spring melts into summer next year!011UPDATE 6/22/14–Though the ‘Baby Moon’ bulbs sent up foliage this spring (their second year in my garden), not a single one bloomed.  I don’t recommend these for naturalization purposes!

