Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The past, present, and future co-mingle in my mid-June garden, with plants that have just finished their bloom cycle, a few that are in glorious bloom now, and many others poised to strut their colorful stuff soon.  rhododendron seed headsIn my front gardens, the rhododendrons have dropped their blossoms, leaving behind their spidery trusses.  How many of my readers go to the trouble of clipping all of these off of their shrubs?  Some years I do; most years I don’t have that kind of patience.  I can say the rhodies do put on a nicer show the following year if I take the (considerable) time to trim them, and it does result in a nicer looking bush for the rest of the current year.

In the bed at the feet of the rhododendrons, the astilbes’ flower stalks are well budded, promising a fine show of feathery plumage within a week or two.  Notice the carpet of rhododendron blossoms littering the ground around them:Astilbe buds

 

more Astilbe budsA hanging fuchsia brightens the front porch and is a fine substitute for the baskets of impatiens I usually hang there.  I don’t normally buy pre-made hanging pots because I find the potting mix is too light and they are too hard to keep well watered, but this plant is healthy and enormous, and it was relatively inexpensive, so I decided to take a chance.  I’ve had it a month and am not disappointed:FuschiaIn the driveway corner of the front bed, the pink Knockout rose is blooming next to some Allium seed heads.  It will continue all summer long:Pink Knockout RoseIn the succulent bed near the driveway, two of the sedums are about to bloom.  I’ve lost track of what varieties they are; if anyone wants to take a stab at identifying them for me, I’d be quite appreciative:063sedum in budAround the corner from the succulent bed, Clematis ‘Riviera’ has opened its first soft lavender blossoms.  I’ve bought the trellis for this climber, but I want to paint it white before I install it, so the plant is trailing on the ground for now.  I planted it here late last summer and am very happy to see it so lush and healthy, with dozens of buds:Clematis 'Riviera'In front of the clematis, the ‘Munstead’ lavender I planted last year has sent up many flower spikes which seem ready to open soon:lavender 'Munstead' buds in front of clematisNow to the rock garden!rock garden in mid-JuneIn the corner, you can see the seed heads of Allium ‘Purple Sensation’ and ‘Gladiator,’ still showing very faint tinges of their once regal purple flowers.  They tower above a small patch of dianthus.  Several dianthus are scattered about the garden; they spread slowly and do well growing in the sparse soil in the cracks and crevices among the rocks.  This one partners with Candytuft seed heads:Dianthus in the rocks, with Candytuft seedheadsAnd here is a bunch hiding among the ferns, visible only if one stands in just the right spot:058This is a variety I found at a local nursery just this year, called ‘Diana Blueberry.’  These blossoms have faded a bit; when fresh, they are more purple than pink:Dianthus 'Diana Blueberry'Also in the rock garden, the Salvia, which I think is ‘May Night,’ is in full bloom.  The bumblebees are very happy it’s having such a good year:Bumblebee on May Night SalviaFarther down this bed, cherry-red Geum ‘Mrs. Bradshaw’ complements a second Salvia.  Geum 'Mrs. Bradshaw' and May Night SalviaThe shrub and climbing roses in the rock garden are heavy with buds; this pink one leads the pack:111099The wild daisies (above) are beginning to open, and, so far the woodchucks haven’t touched the flat-headed buds of the yarrow: 088Let us step over this lazy cat and cross the back porch to have a look at some Jupiter’s Beard (Centrathus ruber), which thrives in the hot afternoon sun against the back of the house:Gratuitous picture of our lazy cat!Jupiter's Beard Centrathus ruberFinally, we’ll traipse up the hill to the tree house, where a rangy wild rose adds some June interest.  This self-sown shrub just showed up, unbidden, about four years ago, and has grown bigger each year since.  I do absolutely nothing to or for it.  If it were yours, would you trim it back once it’s done blooming?  Perhaps I could coax it to bloom again later in the summer if I did so?  073072Thank you, Carol at May Dreams Gardens, for hosting our monthly bloom day party!

