Tags

, , ,

Much of the garden looks tired, and the weeds are making headway at this time of year, yet there is still much to look forward to in September’s garden.

Of course, chrysanthemums will bloom.  They are not reliably perennial in my garden zone, so it pleases me when some do survive the winter and come back to charm me again in the fall.  Here is one large mass celebrating its third year in the rock garden.  I think it is going to be bright yellow:003Here are two others which wintered over nicely in their pots.  Soon after our first hard freeze last winter, I buried them in the rock garden under leaves, sticks, and other garden debris.  They spent the summer in an out-of-the-way place at the edge of the vegetable garden.  Perhaps it was too out-of-the-way; I think they would have benefited from some pinching back and perhaps a bit of fertilizer!  The one in the white pot may be three years old, and I believe it will be pink.  I haven’t a clue about the other more spindly mum.  The plant in the third pot is a purple aster:008At the Rudbeckia end of the rock garden, the Japanese Anemone I planted last fall has sent up a few bloom stalks and buds.  I bought it at a big box store while it was just in bud, and it was labeled ‘September Charm.’  However, once it bloomed, it was quite clear that ‘September Charm’ it was NOT!  It had double blooms and looked more like ‘Prince Henry’ or ‘Margarete.’  Soon I will be able to post pictures of it blooming, and hopefully someone will be able to help me properly identify it:001

At the other end of the rock garden, the Autumn Joy sedum is already pink and will deepen in color to a rich burgundy,while the ferns behind it turn bronze.  I’ll throw carefully place a few pumpkins among them to create a lovely autumn tableau:

008The Pentas in my side porch container garden is covered in buds, and I am very much looking forward to seeing its beautiful lavender flowers again after such a long dormancy.  With any luck, the ‘Arrow Yellow’ snapdragons sharing its pot will bloom at the same time:009009

Hybrid tea rose ‘Sedona’ has graced me with another bud, only the second of the year, and I can’t wait to see its beautiful flower:006

At last, my tomatoes are ripening!  Judging by the number of green tomatoes on the vines, we will be eating A LOT of tomatoes this month!  (Poor us, LOL!)  Here is one of the first, a ‘Rutgers’:020Finally, I will begin to plant my lasagna garden!  Since first writing about it, I have added several layers of grass clippings, old leaves, and rich, dark topsoil straight out of the forest, until it reached about twenty inches in height.  I’ve kept it well watered, but otherwise left it alone.  Among the plants I plan to put up there are an astilbe from the front garden that is crowding another, some old-fashioned coral bells from the rock garden which I think get too much sun, and a Japanese Anemone ‘Robustissima’ which I bought just this past Saturday from my farm market friend.  I’ve also been having a very good time perusing the on-line catalogs and all of your blogs for ideas for mostly shady gardens!  You know you will be hearing more about my lasagna garden in the weeks to come:012

Yes, I am looking forward to seeing what September brings to my gardens!

