Tags

, , ,

Usually when the FedEx truck comes barreling up our street, it’s for my across the street neighbor.  Today, it brought me some goodies!

003Here is the first delivery of plants I’ve ordered for my new lasagna garden, up by the kids’ tree house.  I placed a first-time order with a new-to-me company called Great Garden Plants, and was admittedly apprehensive about what I would receive, since the reviews I read were very mixed.  (Interestingly, the reviews for a well-known, old, established company were even worse!)

I was encouraged when I opened the box and saw how my plants were packed:004Each had its own separate, tall and narrow box, which left no room for jostling around during shipping.  Hello down there, you lovely little Heuchera!006Upon unpacking and inspecting, all of the plants appear healthy and of good size.009The plants I chose for planting in the lasagna bed, which is sunny in the morning and fully shaded by early afternoon, are several Heuchera–‘Paris’, ‘Lime Marmalade’, ‘Rave On’, ‘Alabama Sunrise’, and ‘Southern Comfort’, as well as Tiarella ‘Sugar and Spice’, Brunnera ‘Jack Frost’, and Helleborus ‘Pink Frost’.

In addition, I purchased a Geranium ‘Rozanne’ to add to an already established, mostly sunny bed. One plant, Heuchera ‘Berry Smoothie’, is on back order, and I am interested to see how long it will take to arrive.

So, this afternoon, after I finish teaching the violin lessons that fund my little plant-buying problem, I’ll have a grand time planting these up in the loamy, rich soil of the lasagna bed!012

