Tags

, ,

022The goldenrod has passed its peak, but still provides a late summer glow at the edge of the circle at the top of our road.

Somewhat overshadowed by the tall yellow flowers are a number of lovely woodland asters.  Forgive me; I cannot say that I am 100% certain on any of their identities.  I merely consult native plant data bases (and other people’s blogs!) and make best guesses.  It will not offend me to be corrected!

These may be Calico Asters.  The flowers are about 3/4 of an inch in diameter, with white petals that show a pale tinge of purple as they age.

053
Calico Asters?008

Here is one with tiny flowers, no more than half an inch across.  The blooms are pale lavender.  Could it be Heart-Leaved Aster?024Heart-Leaved Aster?012

The petals on this aster are very fine.  The flowers are white and about 3/4 of an inch in diameter.  Perhaps it is a White Panicle Aster?  Apparently it is alternately known as Lance-leaved Aster.044White Panicle (aka Lance-leaved) Aster?015

This specimen has similarly narrow rays, but it is pale blue and features wider leaves. Maybe it’s a Blue Wood Aster?
045

Blue Wood Aster?010

Here is the final aster present in this area.  It sports the largest (just over an inch in diameter), bluest blossoms of the bunch.  I am having a particularly hard time identifying this one. My best guess is New York Aster, but the leaves don’t seem right.  Another option is Sky Blue Aster, but again, the leaves don’t fit the description.034Just not sure of this one!018Whew!  Over and over in the course of writing this entry, I read that identifying the innumerable varieties of asters is very difficult, and I can now testify to the truth of that statement!

Let’s give our brains a break now with a gratuitous picture of cute cat attacking some goldenrod, shall we?  050Thank you to Gail at Clay and Limestone for hosting Wildflower Wednesday on the fourth Wednesday of each month.  It has been a great resource for me as I attempt to name all of the beautiful flowers that nature supplies!  019

