Tags

, , ,

Narcissus 'Sorbet'Here is Narcissus ‘Sorbet’, one of the three new-to-me daffodils I planted last fall.  The Royal Horticulture Society classifies ‘Sorbet’ as a Papillon Split-Corona daffodil, meaning its corona (cup) is split at least half its length, with those corona segments falling on the spaces between the perianth segments, rather than directly on top of them.  The effect is quite showy; don’t you agree?024‘Sorbet’ began to bloom in my zone 5 garden in mid-May, at the same time as NarcissusBeautiful Eyes‘, ‘Pueblo‘, and ‘Double Fashion.’  It is twelve to fourteen inches tall, and its flowers are 3 1/2 inches wide.  Its whorled, yellow corona can be mottled with streaks of white, and features orange-red highlights on the tips.  The perianth is bright white.  I think it is a lovely addition to my garden, and have added it to my ‘Must Buy More” list!Narcissus 'Sorbet'

