Tags

Sometimes it’s nice to get away from the nitty-gritty details of individual plants or small beds and take a look at the longer view, get a better sense of scope, and see how all the parts work together to create a whole.  With that in mind, today I invite you to take a look at what I see from the back deck of my home.

022I stood in the center of this deck and took pictures of all the gardens in my view as I turned nearly 360 degrees.

Facing the left side of the back of the house, I see the patch of Monarda ‘Jacob Cline’ under my kitchen window, getting ready to have a small second flush of blooms after being cut back a few weeks ago. I also spy a nice crop of weeds:024To the left, at the corner of the vegetable garden fence, you can see another stand of Monarda, well past-due for a good trim.  I held off doing so because until a week ago, the hummingbirds still visited here regularly, taking all the nectar they could from the spent blossoms.

Rotating to my left a bit, I have a great view of the vegeflower (vegeflowertable?) garden, very colorful at this time of year, with zinnias, sunflowers, cleome, marigolds, and four o’clocks mingling among the beans, tomatoes, cucumbers, and basil!  The tall Joe Pye Weed is outside the garden fence:014In the background you can see the rock walls the woodchucks inhabit.  Grrr. . .

Just behind the benches on the lower deck, the goldenrod is in full bloom, and you can see that a pesky woodchuck has been nosing around my compost bins!  I love having the bins so close to my back door and kitchen, but those benches do make it challenging to get to and use the compost!  016

A quarter turn to my left brings the kids’ treehouse and lasagna garden into view.  It’s roughly fifty feet away from the deck, up a medium grade incline.  The spots of red on the right are blooms of Heuchera ‘Paris’.  On the left, you can barely make out the deep pink blooms of Salvia greggi and some softer pink blooms of the Turtlehead. Deep pink and red seem to be the best colors for up there:

035Turning farther to the left, we go downhill past the woods where the deer and bears live.  We haven’t seen a bear here in the past two years, but our neighbor’s damaged bird feeders tell us they are still here.  Apparently our bird feeder is not attractive to them:029A little hitch farther to the left brings the rock garden into sight:030Moving just a bit farther left gives you the full picture of the side lawn.  You can see the rhododendron the morning glories twine their way through, underplanted with pink begonias and alyssum, as well as the so-called Blue and Yellow garden at the edge of the side porch, where a couple of orange marigolds snuck in.  There’s not much blue going on there now, but I expect a ‘Peter iii’ blue aster to open soon.031 The Hibiscus on the side porch has two flowers today.  It’s bloomed sparsely all summer here.  A new location is in order for next summer.033Finally, we are almost back where we started, just facing the right hand side of the back of the house, where the potted Vinca are now living on the Bilco doors leading to our basement.  Maybe before summer ends my husband will finish staining the deck and they can spend their last days up on the railing where they really belong!032The small bed their left holds a sickly rhododendron, a lot of spearmint, some volunteer Rudbeckia, and my new Rosa ‘Chihuly’.  I am particularly taken by the reflection of the rock garden in the family room windows!

I enjoyed composing this “long view” post and plan to make a regular thing of it, showing you views from different vantage points around my house and yard on Tuesdays every week or two.  If you have any long views you’d like to share, feel free to leave a comment and a link to your post.  At one time, I think there was a blogger who hosted a regular “Big Picture” meme, but I have not run across it in some time now.  If anyone knows who that is/was, please let me know!

