Tags

, , , ,

Beth at Plant Postings hosts a seasonal forum in which she invites gardeners to discuss what they’ve learned in or from their gardens throughout the previous few months.

I think the biggest lesson I’ve learned is to use the technology that sits in my purse! Not just once this summer, and not twice, but yes, THREE times this summer I managed to buy and bring home plants that are not actually hardy in my climate zone! Had I just made a few clicks on the smartphone, I would not be facing winter wondering whether I will see these three lovelies again next year:

Salvia ‘greggii’, also known as Autumn or Texas Sage, which has thrived in fairly dry,mostly shaded conditions, its tiny, vivid flowers brightening the lasagna garden all summer long: Salvia 'greggii'Rosa ‘Chihuly’, a gorgeous floribunda I fell head over heels in love with:Rosa 'Chihuly'Its initial yellow deepens to coral as the blooms mature:Rosa Chihuly. . . and lastly, Kniphofia ‘Redhot Popsicle’, which I chose to complement the yellow Coreopsis in the terrace garden:terrace perennials, Red Hot Poker, KniphofiaThese three plants were all purchased at local nurseries, but only the Red Hot Poker was labeled for hardiness, claiming it is hardy to -20 F.  It was not until I arrived home and researched the plants that I found each of them is rated hardy only to zone 6, while I live in zone 5b.

I plan to mulch the heck out of these plants later this fall and hope for the best.  Who knows, maybe I’ll get lucky?  In the meantime, I will also be sure to use the wonder of my wireless data plan to check out purchases in the future!  009Be sure to check Beth’s blog to see what lessons you can learn from other gardeners!

