Tags

,

Yes, I’ve done it again, ordered new plants.  It’s not my fault!  I blame Bittster from sorta like suburbia for mentioning that Santa Rosa Gardens was having a fall clearance sale, plus $5.00 shipping.  I’m sure none of you could have resisted either!

My order arrived today.  I opened the box and found it well-packed, cushioned on top with a thick layer of brown paper.  002Under that layer, nine plants, well wrapped and cushioned in more brown paper, lay arranged in three layers of three.  There was not much room for movement in this box!003I unwrapped each plant to find it further contained inside an elastic mesh sack.  004The unpacking instructions, thoughtfully attached to the outside of the box, directed me to cut open the bottom of the mesh and pull it off each plant from the top, to avoid breaking any foliage or branches.008I’m very happy with this company so far, and this shipment in particular.  The plants seem healthy, and look good, with just the right amount of moisture.  I’ve given them all a drink to recover from their journey, and will plant them tomorrow afternoon or Saturday morning, after they’ve had a chance to recuperate, as suggested on the instruction sheet.007For the mostly shady lasagna garden, I bought a second Turtlehead and some yellow Blackberry Lilies.  It will be nice to have a color other than pink up there!  For the Terrace Garden, I chose two Creeping Phlox, a pink Dianthus, Gaillardia (Blanket Flower), a perennial Salvia grown more its foliage than its flowers, and a sun-tolerant Heuchera.

Just for the record, I can stop anytime I want to.

UPDATE:  One year later, I am happy to report that every single one of these plants is doing well!  I’m very pleased with Santa Rosa Gardens, and ordered more from them late this summer (2015).

