Tags

, ,

The weather here in northeastern Pennsylvania is exactly as it should be in mid-January, cold and crisp, with a light cover of snow over the yard and gardens.  There’s nothing blooming outside this month, but I do have a smattering of indoor blooms to share with you.

The Christmas poinsettias are still in decent shape, though the larger one is a bit droopy and has dropped a fair number of leaves.  They’re likely to wear out their welcome before February’s Bloom Day:022024This cyclamen, a gift to me from one of my students, is near the end of its bloom cycle, I’m afraid.  I see only one more bud stalk forming amidst all the leaves:019My hibiscus gives me a flower or two every day or two.  This is what it looked like two days ago:027025It’s nice to have a little taste of the tropics in the house in the middle of winter!  The flowers generally last two days before they begin to shrivel, like this:028The zonal geraniums wintering under lights in the basement are glorious, and I’ll choose one or two to bring upstairs later this week:033039042

Finally, a trip to the grocery store last night found me unable to resist a few flowers for my kitchen windowsill!  What’s a girl to do when she can buy two for the price of one?017I chose two primroses, grown in Canadian greenhouses and shipped south to brighten our winters.  These plants are bred to bloom prolifically for a few months, and then they are done.  I have tried a few times with absolutely no success to keep them going beyond May, both in their pots and transplanted into the garden.  053056As long as I keep them watered and deadheaded, the blooms should keep coming until May.  The good thing about keeping them in the kitchen windowsill is that it’s very easy to water them as soon as I notice them getting a wee bit droopy.

I was also taken in by these Gerbera Daisies.  Again, buy one, get one free at my favorite market!006049I’ve not grown these as winter houseplants before, so I don’t know how long they will last.  I specifically chose plants that have several buds coming along.  013Carol at May Dreams Gardens hosts this monthly round-up of all that’s blooming in our gardens, indoors and out.  I encourage you to click on the link and see what other bloggers have to share this month.  It’s a great way to pick up a winter-weary spirit!  051

