Tags

,

The last of my Hippeastrum bloomed this week.  This is Amaryllis ‘Picotee’:021Nearly pure white, with just the vaguest hint of pink blush, the petals are outlined with a barely discernible raspberry border.  The blossom features an apple-green eye and long, white pistil and stamens.  Reminiscent of an Easter lily, it, at least, does not have an allergy attack inducing scent!Amaryllis 'Picotee'I failed to notice that ‘Picotee’ had started growing in my basement in the mid-winter, so did not start watering it as soon as I should have.  Looking at its bud in mid-March, I worried that its blooms, if it had any, would be puny:Amaryllis Picotee budWith care, though, it developed better than I expected and provided me with these two seven-inch wide blossoms.  There is one more tiny bud in this cluster, so tiny, in fact, that  I doubt it will amount to anything.  Because the stem was so tall and unwieldy, I cut it off to display more beautifully in a vase.  Amaryllis 'Picotee'Once my Amaryllises finish blooming, I move them to the master bathroom, where they receive bright, filtered light and high humidity.  I water and fertilize them with a balanced houseplant food regularly, and they grow big, strappy leaves.  Once all danger of frost passes, I will move them outside and continue to water and feed them.  In previous years I have kept them in a shaded area where they received direct sun only in the early morning.  While I’ve had good luck getting old bulbs to re-bloom, I’ve been under-impressed with their vigor.  Some winter-time reading revealed that the bulbs gain energy from sunlight, so this year I plan to summer them on the sunnier back deck.  At the end of August, I will discontinue watering them and let the leaves wither and die to feed the bulb.  Then I’ll store the bulbs in paper bags (I like to unpot them, but I know some people successfully leave them right in their pots) in the cool, dark basement until December or January, when I’ll pot them up and the Amaryllis Parade can begin again!

‘Picotee’

024‘Elvas’ 

Amaryllis 'Elvas'‘Faro’Amaryllis 'Faro'‘Apple Blossom’
Amaryllis 'Apple Blossom'‘Gervase’Amaryllis 'Gervase'‘Red Lion’Amaryllis 'Red Lion'

