Tags

, , ,

Now enjoying its second spring in my lasagna bed, Hellebore ‘Pink Frost’ is blooming with great abandon, so much so that I didn’t mind at all to trim two stems to place in a vase this Monday.  005I paired it with Puschkinia scilloides var. libanotic (Lebanese Squill or Striped Squill), also blooming in the lasagna bed right now.  Puschikinia libanotica, Lebanese or Striped SquillHellebore 'Pink Frost'I felt like the arrangement needed a little height to add a slight bit of drama, so I clipped two almost-ready-to-open forsythia twigs and added a leafy sprig of something that came in a store-bought bouquet seven weeks ago!  After photographing it in natural late-afternoon light, albeit gloomy, I moved the vase indoors to display on the mantel in front of some houseplants.025‘Pink Frost’ opens in a mottled pale pink and creamy white pattern, and matures to a deep rose color.  Its blooms open and face up and out, which I’m told is unusual for a Hellebore.

I think she is just spectacular!  Hellebore 'Pink Frost'Thank you to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden for hosting this weekly gathering of bloggers who want to bring the beauty of outdoors into their homes, In a Vase on Monday!

