Tags

, , , , ,

018Will it surprise anyone that I have Cosmos (‘Sensation Pink’) to show you this month?  After our heavy rain last week, I spent half an hour one morning cutting, pulling, thinning, and staking the Cosmos patch near the garage, and I must say, it finally looks civilized!025Had I had the energy earlier in the summer to thin this self-seeded patch, the plants probably would have stayed a little shorter, and their lower halves would look healthier!  Next year!

Of course there are Cleomes, too–a jungle of them in Dogwood Corner in the Terrace Garden!

035It’s thick in there!130Cleome continues to flower from the top of the plant, and forms long, thin seed pods below:127

So, besides the inevitable Cosmos and Cleome, what is blooming for me in mid-August?

Here are some marigolds, started indoors from seed,  along the front section of Dogwood Corner.  I was unable to get them planted out until mid-July, so they haven’t had time to branch and bush out yet.  Maybe by September’s Bloom Day?  The yellow ones are French Marigold ‘Lemondrop’, while the orange are ‘Queen Sophia”:115

Set against the back wall behind the Terrace Garden’s Shrubbery Row, the perennial sunflowers (Heliopsis ‘Summer Sun’) continue to bloom, and would benefit greatly from dead-heading!  I will do it when the temperature and humidity both fall below ninety, okay?118The Russian Sage (Perovskia atriplicifolia) has largely recovered from its rainy beating and is blooming with abandon:106

Near the upper end of the Terrace Garden, the Obedient Plant, Physostegia virginiana ‘Crown Rose’ is, for lack of a better word, thriving:059Bees love it!  061It’s hard to believe that just a year ago, this patch consisted of three meager little plants!  They sure are beautiful, though!071

A mislabeled Coreopsis lies hidden behind the Obedient Plant.076  The tag said ‘Summer Sun’, but that was clearly wrong!  Having poked around the Internet, I believe this may be Coreopsis ‘Cranberry Ice’:078

The perennial-filled corner of the Terrace Garden has been nameless since its birth last summer.  I hereby proclaim that it will now be known as Becky’s Bed, in honor of Shasta Daisy (Leucanthemum x superbum) ‘Becky’.  ‘Becky’ grew huge this summer and bloomed heavily for at least six weeks, beginning in late June.  Had I dead-headed her much earlier than three days ago, I’m sure she would still be going strong.  As it is, I did find a few more buds as I trimmed down the spent flowers, and I won’t be surprised if she gifts me with an autumn flush.  This is ‘Becky’ now:

085‘Becky’ is surrounded by Agastache ‘Kudos Coral’ and Liatris (Gayfeather) ‘Floristan Violet’.  I find this little garden vignette very pleasing:088Coreopsis ‘Moonbeam’ gracefully dances above the front wall.  It too has had a long bloom season:047

Here is my newest acquisition, bought and planted just two weeks ago. This is a hardy, hybrid Hibiscus ‘Summerific Berrylicious’:067Also known as Rose Mallow, its flower is eight inches wide:073

The Sneezeweed (Helenium autumnale ‘Mariachi Salsa’) is starting to open, earlier than I, who futilely fights the arrival of fall each year, want!  Maybe I should treat it like a chrysanthemum and nip its earliest buds next year:081Sadly, these flowers are not tall enough to wave their heads above the Terrace Garden’s back wall, and the Obedient Plant blocks them from the front!  I think, though, that by the time the Sneezeweed is in its prime, the Obedient Plant will be done and I can cut it down.  That’s my story, anyway, and I’m sticking with it!082Now here is a happy surprise–a Butterfly Bush I thought I had lost to the miserable winter!  I knew I had planted one somewhere in this bed last year, but could not for the life of me remember where!  Until it bloomed, I thought it was one of the coral Agastaches, but now it is clear that this is Buddleia ‘Lo and Behold Bluechip’:096Finally, here is a flower that makes me happy every time I see it, Gaillardia ‘Arizona Sun’:
054This little Blanketflower (barely a foot tall and wide) has been a powerhouse of big, bold blooms all summer long, and I anticipate it continuing well into the fall.

Though I’m a bit late to the party this month, I am joining Carol’s monthly meme at May Dreams Gardens, where bloggers from all around the world have the opportunity to share what’s blooming in their gardens this month!  Thanks for visiting mine!056

