Tags

, , , ,

The King Alfred type daffodils began to bloom seven weeks ago and are now long gone, but even now, in mid-May, there are fresh faces shining in the gardens!

Narcissus ‘Yellow Cheerfulness’

DSC_4374

‘Yellow Cheerfulness’ is a multi-flowering double Narcissus that blooms in early to mid-May.  Its height ranges from 16 to 20 inches in my garden.  Each of its stems bears two or three flowers that average two inches in diameter.  Its perianth is a pale, creamy shade of yellow, while its frilly, whorled corona is a darker shade, reminiscent of an egg yolk!

DSC_4367

I planted ‘Yellow Cheerfulness’ amidst a patch of Grape Hyacinths in the Dogwood Corner section of my terrace garden, hoping the two would bloom concurrently and complement one another well.  The Muscari began to bloom about ten days before Yellow Cheerfulness, but its bloom season has been long enough that my scheme worked out fairly well.  I do wish I had arranged the bulbs a little differently, though, with the Narcissi more on the upper borders of the Muscari.

DSC_4393

Do I think it’s a great idea to move the bulbs?  Yes.  Will I actually do it?  Probably not.  I don’t need a Magic 8 Ball to tell me that!  Now, I did just yesterday plant some tiny plugs of Euphorbia polychroma along the edges of the Muscari stream, so hopefully next year, there will be a lower, brighter yellow border to better set off the blue violet Muscari.

At any rate, ‘Yellow Cheerfulness’ is a sweet flower with a mild, delicate scent.  I very well may add more of these to the garden next year!

DSC_4474

 

Narcissus ‘Stratosphere’

DSC_4478

I planted ‘Stratosphere’ in front of a row of blue Camassia in Dogwood Corner, hoping they might bloom simultaneously.  No such luck!  I fear Stratosphere will be finishing up just as the Cammies start to bloom.  But just look what promise they hold!  I think I’ll have quite the Camassia display in about a week:

DSC_4445

Sorry; off topic, I know!

Well, now back to Narcissus ‘Stratosphere’.  A Jonquil Narcissus, Stratosphere earns its name by virtue of its height.  It is one of the taller daffodils I’ve grown, ranging from eighteen to twenty-two inches.  Its clear, bright yellow flowers average two inches across, and most of the stems bear two blossoms.  Its corona is negligibly darker and more orange in tint than its perianth.

DSC_4463

Stratosphere’s bold color is an attention grabber!  It really stands out along the back wall of Dogwood Corner!

DSC_4449

I’m still waiting for one last Narcissus to bloom in Dogwood Corner, and that is ‘Baby Moon’.  I expect it to open in about a week; perhaps it will be the one to complement the Cammasia!  Its tiny buds just poked through the soil yesterday:

DSC_4382

 

Narcissus ‘Yazz’

DSC_4426

I planted Narcissus ‘Yazz’ up in the lasagna bed, near ‘Kedron’, thinking the apricot tints they shared would complement each other.  Kedron was at the peak of its bloom as Yazz opened, but they have had a bit of time to look nice together:

DSC_4424

‘Yazz’ is another Jonquil, with three flowers on nearly every stalk.  The flowers are about two and a half inches wide, and they grow between twelve and fourteen inches tall.  Upon opening, Yazz is pale yellow, but its perianth quickly fades to white.

DSC_4425

There is a good deal of detail in Yazz’s corona, lemony-yellow at its based, and rimmed in pinkish-apricot.  It’s hard to appreciate this level of detail from a distance, so my way-up-the-hill lasagna bed may not be the best location for Yazz!  However, it is advised that pink-shaded daffodils be planted in partly shady spots in order for the pink to more fully develop.  I’ll have to ponder a more advantageous location for this beauty!

DSC_4427

With so many Narcissus cultivars available, I may well have a daffodil show that lasts two full months!

 

