Tags

, ,

It’s Independence Day here in the United States, and my gardens have obligingly provided me with flowers for a patriotic bouquet:DSC_5524

Here are the components of this arrangement:

Shasta Daisy ‘Becky’ opened her first flowers over the weekend, and there are many more to come:DSC_5494Becky is a hugely gratifying plant!DSC_5526(There are also a few wild Ox Eye daisies in the arrangement.)

My lavender has had a very good year, and is just slightly past  its prime.  I do not remember what cultivar this is, but it really likes this hot, fairly dry, sunny location next the steps to my side porch:DSC_5498

DSC_5514

Monarda ‘Jacob Cline’ (Bee Balm)  started to bloom about ten days ago.  Here’s a large clump of it at the corner of the vegetable garden:DSC_5500It’s a hummingbird favorite!DSC_5503

I also made a secondary bouquet, with a more Monarda, a branch of Bachelor’s Buttons, and a newly opened spray of Rosa Alba Meidiland‘:DSC_5521

 It’s my memory that ‘Alba Meidiland’ has a very short vase life, so this is a test, both of the rose and my memory!DSC_5519

One little Bachelor Button plant popped up in the corner of my vegetable garden this spring, from seeds I planted there early last summer!DSC_5520

Many thanks to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden for hosting this weekly forum of flower arrangements!  Stop by her site and you will surely be inspired to create your own vase for this week!

DSC_5529

