Tags

,

I’ve been running a day late and a dollar short here all week, but today I’ve vowed to get caught up!  (Cue the resounding laughter from the gallery . . .)

First, here’s my Monday vase!  I ended up really liking the Ikebana style arrangement I had made the week before, and the Heuchera leaves still looked fresh, so I simply replaced the flowers!  DSC_5752

The Obedient Plant just began blooming this week, so I chose one of its tall stalks for the centerpiece (Shin).  DSC_5754

I used sprigs of Russian Sage for the intermediate element (Soe).  I’m not 100% happy with this choice; it seems too unkempt for this sort of arrangement.  They smell nice, though!DSC_5767

Finally, for the shortest element (Tai), I chose some orange Profusion Zinnias.  I wanted a nice contrast to the pinkish-purple Obedient Plant.DSC_5755

As always, thanks to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden  for hosting ‘In a Vase on Monday” each week!DSC_5771

 

Now, here are my Tuesday Views!

First, the Terrace Garden, from the top near Becky’s Corner:DSC_5747I do love late July in this garden, with its explosion of color!  The Liatris has begun its cycle, and the Coreopsis ‘Moon Beam’, Monarda ‘Pink Supreme’ and Balloon Flowers are all in their prime.  Clematis ‘Jackmanii’ has  fewer blossoms this week; it seems a nighttime visitor felt the need to sample several.  Just a bit beyond that, the Obedient Plant has opened its first few tall spikes, and farther down the line, the Russian Sage waves its misty blue spires in front of the sunshiny Heliopsis.

This is a bed I rarely show you, the Blue and Yellow Garden, at the edge of my side porch:

DSC_5779

This bed is a combination of perennials and annuals in shades of yellow and blue.  Blooming in yellow are two varieties of Coreopsis: ‘Moon Beam’ and a broader leaf variety whose name I don’t know, Galliardia ‘Arizona Apricot’, and some marigolds.  In blue, we have tall Balloon Flower, some newly planted Veronica (Speedwell), Salvia ‘Evolution’, Ageratum, and a brand new Scabiosa.

DSC_5775

I am linking this post to Words and Herbs, where each Tuesday, Cathy shows us the same view of her garden so we can track its progress through the season.  You can join her with your own Tuesday Views, even if it is on Thursday!

