Life has been unexpectedly busy this week (my son leaves for college in four days!), and I just did not have time to bring you a new Thursday’s Feature today!  Instead, I am reblogging a post I wrote two years ago, about my very favorite zinnia!   It is timely; ‘Zowie’ just started blooming in my garden this week!

At the end, I link to Canadian Garden Joy, who originated the Thursday Plant Profile meme.  She was unable to continue, and I picked it up again myself this summer.  Please feel free to join in and feature your own favorite plant of the week, on any day of the week you wish!

 

Cosmos and Cleome

Today I am writing about a glorious Zinnia–‘Zowie! Yellow Flame’, to whom I was introduced via Rose at Prairie Rose’s Garden.  I grew this annual flower in the middle of my vegetable garden last summer, but regrettably neglected to order more seeds for it this year.  I miss this birthday party of a flower, featuring vibrant rings of magenta, orange-red, and yellow:Zinnia 'Zowie Yellow Flame'‘Zowie!’  bears semi-double flowers, averaging three inches in diameter in my garden. It is a profuse bloomer with a good branching habit, and  grows to about thirty inches in height.  In the crowded conditions of my vegetable garden last year, this plant had about an eighteen inch spread.  Zinnia 'Zowie!'

I sowed twelve ‘Zowie’ seeds directly into the garden in very late June, when the soil and the weather were reliably warm.  Seven days later, I had 100% germination.  The first flower bloomed about eight weeks later, in mid-to-late August.  If I…

View original post 282 more words

