Tags

, , , , , ,

Here I am, yet again a day late! I sat down to write yesterday afternoon, and the hard drive crashed. Thankfully, my husband is brilliant and solved the problem late last night.

A 60 foot row of 179 blooming daffodils (yep, I counted!), mostly King Alfred type

What I have a lot of this week, and I know I’m not alone, are daffodils! On Wednesday, I showed you my earliest, a row of King Alfred type Trumpet narcissi, along the top of our backyard hill. I started with thirty bulbs up there in 2013 and have added ten or twenty nearly every fall since. A few years ago, I added a small patch of ‘Fellows Favorite’, a Large-Cupped narcissus which opens a few days later and is slightly lighter in color than its royal counterparts. I may choose to add more of those to the mix this fall.

‘Fellows Favorite’ in front of King Alfred
Narcissus ‘Fellows Favorite’

Down the hill, in the rock garden, another Large-Cupped daffodil, ‘Fortissimo’, is starting to open. It seems less bold and brassy this year than usual, perhaps more of a mezzo-forte? It’s early in its bloom cycle yet, though, so the colors may grow bolder and its trumpet more orange over the next few days. There are also fewer of them than there used to be–maybe it’s time to do some lifting and separating of these ten-year-old, never-been-moved bulbs?

Narciussus ‘Fortissimo’

There’s a small cluster of ‘Tete a Tete’ daffs in a small bed that formerly housed a declining rhododendron. This is the first time I’ve grown these outdoors, as opposed to forcing them indoors in February. These are tiny little delights in the Cyclamineus class, no more than six inches high with flowers less than two inches across. My records for last fall made no mention of ‘Tete a Tete’, so I was surprised to see them. (Taking a note now to take better notes!)

Narciussus ‘Tete a Tete’
Tiny little ‘Tete a Tete’

Another Cyclamineus daffodil is blooming in the Terrace Garden. This is Narcissus ‘Jetfire’, blooming here for its seventh year. It may also be the seventh consecutive year I’ve thought, “I really need to move these to a place where they won’t be so hidden behind the wall!” This year I’m adding, “But I know I won’t do it.” But I really should.

Narcissus ‘Jetfire’ barely visible behind the Terrace Garden wall
Here you can really see the distinctive cyclamineus shape of ‘Jetfire’.

The daffodils in the Lasagna Bed are slowly opening. I believe this is ‘Kedron’, though it seems a little early for the Jonquillas. We did, however, have two days this week with temperatures in the low 90s, so all bets are off in terms of what’s going to bloom when!

If the yellow perianth of this narcissus turns apricot, I’ll know for sure it’s ‘Kedron’.

So there are my six for the week, all narcissi. Since it’s also Bloom Day, I’m going to take some liberty and show you just a few more pictures of some other things blooming around my yard today.

Puschkinia scilloides var libanotica (aka Striped Squill)
The blue striped squill complement the daffodils nicely.
Hellebore in the front garden
Hellebore flower (and my thumb, cleverly photoshopped to match the flower, lol!)
One of seven hellebores I planted along the edge of our woods last spring. One other is blooming similarly to this, while the others all have nice healthy new leaves coming along.
A few hyacinths have opened. These were originally another color that I don’t remember now, but reverted to pink several years ago.

Thanks for stopping by to see what’s blooming in my garden this week. Thank you to Jim at Garden Ruminations for hosting the weekly Six on Saturday meme, and to Carol at May Dreams Gardens for hosting the monthly Bloom Day!