Tags

Hippeastrum Amaryllis 'Elvas'Hippeastrum ‘Elvas’, new to me this year, is the third of my amaryllises to bloom this winter.  This is the first double-flowered amaryllis I’ve grown.  005‘Elvas’ is small, growing only to a foot high, with flowers about five inches wide.  Mine did not produce any leaves before sending up its flower stalk, which holds four blooms.Hippeastrum Amaryllis 'Elvas' I think another flower stalk is on its way.  This tip seems too thick for a leaf:009Time will tell.

Hippeastrum Amaryllis 'Elvas'

The flower’s background is white to pale pink, with raspberry speckles and striations throughout, and narrow picotee edging.  There’s a nice ruffled whorl of petals in the center, emerging from an apple-green throat.  Some of the petals have a touch of green on their tips as well.Hippeastrum Amaryllis 'Elvas'I think ‘Elvas’ would look stunning next to ‘Gervase’, (my current all-time favorite amaryllis!) seen here in a picture from 2013:Amaryllis 'Gervase' I’ll try to get them to bloom concurrently next year.  Won’t that be a nice challenge?

Hippeastrum Amaryllis 'Elvas'