Tags

My violin students gave a recital yesterday afternoon, and I wanted a pretty bouquet decorate the rather drab room in which it was held.  Of course I went to my garden, and was pleased to find a nice assortment! DSC_6298 I used some of the last ‘Becky’ Shasta Daisies, the first few Cosmos ‘Pink Sensation’, some Obedient Plant ‘Crown Rose’ that is just about done, a few bits of violet Salvia ‘Evolution’,  and a big sprig of some early Sneezeweed (Helenium ‘Mariachi Salsa’).  DSC_6311A few branches of Joe Pye Weed and self-seeded Cleome help fill it in.  Cleome droops quickly after picking, but perks up quickly once placed in water.DSC_6304I also snipped off two spires of  Buddleia ‘Lo and Behold Bluechip’ (Butterfly Bush), and am well pleased with how well they are holding up in the vase.

The recital went well; all of my students played beautifully, and many parents complimented the flowers.  Thanks to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden for hosting this weekly collection of vases created by bloggers around the world!DSC_6302

