Tags

, , ,

I can be a horrible procrastinator, particularly when it comes to bringing my houseplants back inside for the winter.  We have thus far dodged any frost that’s fallen around here, but one night last week, I feared our luck was about to end.  I hurriedly toted in my several pots, regretfully dismantling my porch corner hideaway. 

Haste makes waste!  In my rush, I dropped and broke one pot that was crammed full of an ever-expanding succulent.  Only the saucer of the pot broke, but the plant fell to pieces. 

Yes, all of this, plus a small bit more, was crammed into that yellow pot! 

As I was rummaging about for several pots in which to replant all of these babies, my engineering slanted son said, “You know what would be really cool?  If you could somehow make a big tower of dirt and plant those so they’re all sticking out the sides, with one on the top.”

One quick trip to Home Depot to buy a strawberry pot and some cactus potting mix, and his vision came to fruition!

Now, I must admit my ignorance and ask for help from my garden blog friends.  I have not a clue what this plant is, beyond it being some sort of succulent.  My grandmother had it for years, and I inherited it when she entered a nursing home seven or eight years ago.  She didn’t know its name either, but just told me it didn’t need much water or care, and that it would keep having babies.   Can anyone tell me what I have here?  Julie, perhaps you know?

There are a couple other succulents in my houseplant collection.  This is my two year old Christmas (Halloween?)cactus.  I was concerned that bringing it inside would cause it to drop its buds, but so far, they’re all intact.  Just this morning, I noticed one has already burst open.  This plant may need to be re-potted once it’s done blooming. 

This is my Crown of Thorns, or Forever Flower, Euphorbia X lomi.  It suffered a broken pot when Tropical Storm Irene blew through, and ended up dropping all of its lower leaves before I got it re-potted.  It spends all winter in the corner of my kitchen windowsill, where it thrives on late afternoon sunlight and high kitchen humidity.  I love the dainty red flowers it cheerfully proffers all winter long.

Besides these succulents, I also have two shamrock plants, two pots of pothos ivy, two large shefflera, the new hibiscus, and a few pots of geraniums to overwinter.  They’re all inside now, clustered in the front entryway, waiting for me to rearrange my house to make room just for them!  What we won’t do for our plants!